Skip to Content

Election Information

The Student Government election will take place from Monday, February 17, 2020 through Thursday, February 20, 2020. The election will decide your next Student Body President, Vice President and Senators who will represent you for the 2020-2021 school year.  Please be aware that there is also a student referendum to decide on changes to the Student Government Constitution and your vote is important as we make decisions that impact Bobcats. All enrolled Texas State students are eligible to cast their votes:


The official physical polling station in the San Marcos campus is located on the second floor of the LBJ Student Center (across from Wells Fargo), it is open from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. during the voting days (February 17 through February 20, 2020). The official physical polling location in the Round Rock campus is located in the Avery building, Suite 265. On-line voting is available daily February 17 through 19 from 7:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. and on February 20 from 7:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.




Expand or Collapse all.
  • Students may vote from their mobile devices. However, students risk the chance of not fully voting if the connection is dropped.

  • All students of every classification, regardless of their other Texas attributes, who are enrolled for any amount of credit hours at either the Round Rock or San Marcos campuses of Texas State University are allowed to vote.

  • The voting system is intended to be a secret ballot. Meaning, it only records that students cast their vote. Once students have logged into the voting system and have officially cast their vote another ballot cannot be created. This method is similar to state and national voting.

  • Students who have placed a "Privacy Hold" on their University records will not show up due to a request made by that student. Students must remove the "Privacy Hold" to show up as a write--in candidate. This process is done by the Office of the University Registrar located at JCK 111 or by calling 512-245-2367.

  • Students may cast their votes in the election for candidates running for President, Vice President, Senators At-Large, and the Senators of their own academic college of their major. For example, students with a Political Science major will only be able to vote for candidates running for a Liberal Arts position.